About GHL / Loh Wee Hian, Simon

Loh Wee Hian, Simon

Executive Vice Chairman


Loh Wee Hian, Simon, was appointed as Non-Independent Non-Executive Director on 28 December 2010. Subsequently on 18 January 2011, he was redesignated as Non-Independent Non-Executive Chairman, and as Executive Chairman on 3 March 2011. On 1 September 2012, Simon was designated to Executive Vice Chairman, a position that he holds to the present time.

Simon’s background is in the telecommunications industry. He successfully secured the master distributor license for Ericsson mobile phones in Malaysia in 1989 through Telemas Corporation, a company that he controls. As the market for mobile phone distribution matured, Simon ventured out in 1999 to co-found e-pay (M) Sdn Bhd (“e-pay”), a company that provides electronic top-ups for prepaid mobile phones. In the ensuing years, e-pay became a leading electronic top-up processor in South East Asia and the largest in Malaysia in that category. In 2006, e-pay was listed on the Australian Stock Exchange (ASX) and Simon became its Executive Chairman.

In 2010, as the market for electronic top-ups started maturing, Simon ventured out again to take a 30% stake in GHL. He replaced the existing Board and management team with experienced professionals and within 2 years returned the company to profitability after 4 consecutive years of losses. In 2014, GHL successfully acquired the whole of e-pay when its general offer was accepted by e-pay’s shareholders. Since then, e-pay and GHL have consolidated to become a significant merchant acquirer in ASEAN. Today, GHL group entities serve over 140,000 merchants in Malaysia, Philippines and Thailand with card payments as well as telco prepaid top-ups and bill collection services.

He is one of the founder members of the Young Entrepreneurs Organization Malaysia Chapter, a global, non- profit educational organisation for business owners.

In recognition of his contributions in the technology sector, he won the prestigious Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of The Year Malaysia Award under the Technology Category in 2006.